Denver Broncos Field Set to Undergo Major Renovation

Denver Broncos Field pic The Denver Broncos recently partnered with Millennium Sports Technologies and Sports Contracting Group to undertake a major turf renovation at Sports Authority Field at Mile High Stadium. The upgrade will occur during the offseason, and the field has already been removed to make way for new grass. Just in time for the preseason, the renovation should be completed in early April. The first game scheduled to be played on the new field is a home opener match in early May with the Denver Outlaws playing the Charlotte Hounds.

The former turf at Sports Authority Field, installed when the stadium opened in 2001, consisted of a synthetic blend. The new playing surface will be 100 percent Kentucky bluegrass sod grown by a turf farm in Fort Morgan, Colorado. This renovation will benefit not only the Denver Broncos, but also a number of college and high school football teams that play at the stadium as well.


Peyton Manning Honored with Bart Starr Award

Peyton Manning pic Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning recently received the Bart Starr Award, one of the most celebrated awards in professional football. He received the honor at the 2015 Super Bowl Breakfast, which was attended by more than 1,600 people. The annual event is sponsored by Athletes in Action and the Super Service Challenge.

The Bart Starr Award winner is selected by players in the National Football League for good character and contributions to the game and the community. Manning is a longtime respected athlete, in both college and professional play, and he works with a number of charitable causes. Since 1999, his PeyBack Foundation has funded more than $10 million in grants and programs for youth who are at risk in Colorado, Tennessee, Louisiana, and Indiana.

Mark Householder, president of Athletes in Action, said that Manning was a “winner through his significant community contribution and a man of character and integrity in his personal life.”

Previous winners of the Bart Starr Award, which is named after the former standout Green Bay Packers quarterback, include Drew Brees, Reggie White, and Mike Singletary.